Books to Read, Lists to Finish.

I think one of my biggest goals for this year is to finish up some of my long term projects. I’ve been crocheting a blanket for almost two years now… I’m about half-way finished, but it is time and past time for me to get it done. I also started out watching all the Disney movies (or, to be more technical, all the Walt Disney Animated Feature Films) in chronological order about two years ago. When I started this project, I thought it would take me a summer. That was the summer of 2013… It is currently January 2015. I’m on Oliver and Company, which is number 27. Out of 54. So I’ve got some work to do.

My other big long term project has been reading all the Newbery winners in chronological order. We’ve talked about this before: that list has been harder for me than I anticipated. Much, much harder. It doesn’t help that my library resources went from epically large university library with free inter-library loan to small but still delightful local library service with occasional inter-system loans. But let’s be honest: my real struggle is those books about animals. And with children’s literature in general before 1950ish… But I still believe in children’s literature and I still want to finish my list.

I also want to read more this year. I go through phasing of reading a lot (like when I spent the summer nannying an infant. I was going through a book or two a day!) or not reading quite as much (like right now because my dear husband talked me into reading the whole Bible in a month. That puts a bit of a damper on reading other things…). My dear husband and I have decided to do a bit of a project together: we both chose 11 books (one for each month except January this year) for the other to read. It is a variety of books, although unsurprisingly, he will be reading a lot of children’s and young adult stuff and I’m going to be reading a lot of theology. But it will be good: I’m really excited for him to read some of my favorite books and I’m willing to give his theology stuff a try. (I’ll let you know the final list Thursday…)

In order to accomplish all of these big lists and goals, I’m also going to try and infuse a bit more structure into my days. Starting with no Netflix until 3pm. I knit/crochet much faster when listening to podcasts, so I need to spend more time doing that and less time watching the X Files (I know, I’m like 20 years to late. But seriously Scully, what will it take for you to believe?!?). So we’ll see how that works.

Well, that’s what I wanted to share with you this morning. Sorry it doesn’t have any exciting photos or fun life stories. Hopefully I’ll be able to work more diligently on these long term projects and keep you updated as to my progress.

What about you, dear readers? Any exciting long term projects for 2015?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books to Read, Lists to Finish.

  1. Bethany says:

    Long-Term Projects for 2015:
    1) A wedding dress
    2) A queen-sized quilt, because getting married apparently means a larger bed
    3) Trying to resist adding any other projects to my to-do list (and this third is the hardest ‘project’ of them all!)

Leave a Reply

