Make.

The Christmas tree is in the yard. The boxes are in the shed. My living room feels slightly bigger and a bit less twinkly, but in a good way. I’m already trying to figure out how I can decorate a bit for winter and even spring and summer.

We had a lovely Christmas. Actually, we had approximately 6 lovely Christmases and a wedding to boot! My family has always been this way: the perks of being a big family. My dear husband and I received lovely gifts and gave some pretty good ones too. I didn’t end up making very many things this year because all of my making power went into Glittering Eyes Studio. But I did discover the trick to stress-less gift wrapping: buy books and DVDs. Or anything else that is a rectangle…

And now it is January 2015. I had my moment of reflection, introspection, and goal setting yesterday whilst sitting in my local coffee shop. Last year was a crazy year for us… We spent half the year in temporary, transitional places, trying to learn and love as best we could all the while knowing we were leaving soon. The other half of the year we have spent trying to learn new rhythms, find new traditions and keep old ones, and trying to find stability and put down some roots. My word for 2014 was Grow. I knew that I was going to have to grow in order to survive last year. I both grew and survived.

For 2015, I have chosen the word Make. I want this to be a year full of making things: making things for my store, making things for family and friends, making mistakes and learning from them, making friends, making memories, making more dinner, making bread, making new things to get better skills, making to-do lists, making progress on my big long-term projects, making time for the things that are important. Make.

I have big ideas for 2015. Big shop ideas, big craft ideas, big life ideas. I want my Etsy shop to grow. I want our house to feel more and more like home every day. I want this town and this place to feel more settled. Last year was a year for going, doing, adventuring, driving (lots and lots and lots of road trips!), learning, stretching. And I know there will be plenty of that this year too. But I want to make in 2015.

So, 2015, let’s do this. As the wise Neil Gaiman wrote:
And for this year, my wish for each of us is small and very simple.

And it’s this.

I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes.

Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re Doing Something.

So that’s my wish for you, and all of us, and my wish for myself. Make New Mistakes. Make glorious, amazing mistakes. Make mistakes nobody’s ever made before. Don’t freeze, don’t stop, don’t worry that it isn’t good enough, or it isn’t perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life.

Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, Do it.

Make your mistakes, next year and forever.”

And he also said:
May your coming year be filled with magic and dreams and good madness. I hope you read some fine books and kiss someone who thinks you’re wonderful, and don’t forget to make some art — write or draw or build or sing or live as only you can. And I hope, somewhere in the next year, you surprise yourself.”

Amen and Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make.

  1. Pingback: February So Far | stargirlwonders

Leave a Reply

