What I’m Into (October 2014)

If you know me in real life or have heard me talk for longer than about 3 minutes, you know how often I start sentences with “one of my favorite bloggers…” (Here’s a secret: they’re all my favorite). I have been reading blogs for a good long while now and I have always loved them. I follow serious blogs with deep thoughts and fun blogs with goofy pictures and blogs about crafting and blogs about food and blogs about life in general. I have always looked up to these bloggers and love reading their thoughts and being inspired by their lives.

All that to say, one of my favorite bloggers, Leigh Kramer,  does a monthly round up of What I’m Into. I have always loved reading her and other bloggers report on they are into for the month and now I’ve decided it is time for me to play along too!

Books:
I have been reading things all over the radar this month (and really this whole fall…). I fell into The Selection series by Kiera Cass recently. I can’t decide if I like it or not, but because it is a trilogy, I’ve stuck around just to see what happens. I also found Jojo Moyes via some of my favorite bloggers’ recommendation and read The One Plus One. I really enjoyed that one and I have another one from the library waiting for me to read.

I decided to try and be thematic in my reading for October and picked up Anne of Green Gables and The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson. I read The Lottery by Shirley Jackson in college and fell in love with it, so when I saw this lovely copy at one of my local bookstores, I knew it was the perfect October read. This copy of Anne of Green Gables I have owned since I was a kid and according to the name written in the front cover, I stole it from my aunt at some point… I haven’t quite finished Anne, but I have really enjoyed revisiting a classic.

10729298_844008882305950_421605644_n

October has some conflicting reading themes…

My other reading project has been pretty dormant of late… I have The Waterless Mountain in my possession, now I just need to get the motivation to actually read it…

TV:
In our house, the television pretty much exists solely for sports and Netflix… So we’ve spent our Saturdays cheering for Florida State, Virginia, and Baylor (let’s just say some of us are having a better season than others of us…), our Sundays cheering for whoever is on my dear husband’s fantasy team, and our evenings cheering on the Royals (all the while bemoaning the fact that baseball season is over. Again).

As far as Netflix goes, we definitely get our money’s worth from the magical streaming option. My dear husband and I are still slowly but surely working our way through Buffy the Vampire Slayer, The West Wing, and Fraiser. (Yes, I know, it’s like the late ’90s all over again…). We also just finished watching Doctor Who (at least the episodes on Netflix…). There may have been a tear shed at the end of that season!  I am still working through LOST and, along with every other female about my age, Gilmore Girls. I’ve discovered it is much easier to knit during Gilmore Girls than LOST: less need to see the screen when witty dialogue is more important than whoever just jumped out of the jungle at you.

Music:
Guys, I am all about that bass. Like seriously. And Shake it Off? Constant repeat in our house. I recently rediscovered pop music and while I don’t love all it of, I do love some of it. So do yourselves a favor and check out these three albums:
Bleachers: Strange Desire
Meghan Trainor: Title (EP)

Taylor Swift: 1989

Things I love:
All things fall. Apple orchards, pumpkin patches, boots, scarves, the world’s comfiest sweater, rooibos tea, college homecoming, stew… I love it all. But I may have mentioned that already…

We have gotten into a pretty good rhythm around here with family dinner at our house on Fridays and dinner at my sister-in-law’s house on Tuesday. I love routine (my ISTJ is showing…) and having routine that involves food and family is all the better.

I have been hard at work on my super-secret project and I have good news: it should be ready on Saturday, November 1st! Huzzah! It has been fun to work on and I hope it will continue to be fun to work on in the future… Are you excited? Because you should be.

Seeing so many friends this month has been great. Visits from friends and visiting everyone for Homecoming filled up my soul and made me so grateful to living closer to so many of those I love.

Speaking of friends I love, some of them are having a baby soon! I love having pregnant friends: I have a reason to knit baby things and I finally get to see them be the wonderful parents I always suspected they would be.

From the Blog:
Just in case you missed it, I’ve been busy loving fall around here…
Apple Orchard
Pumpkin Patch
Homecoming
I also built some furniture, made some apple related deliciousness, and, of course, was happy for about 5 things once a week.

Suffice to say, I was into a lot this month. And the month isn’t even over quite yet! I also know for a fact that November will be just as adventurous: we start with a church stew on the 1st, headed for a conference in the middle of the month, and then I get to go to Florida for a bit and see my mom, sister, aunts, cousins, grandparents… A whole bunch of people to celebrate my mom’s landmark birthday. And that’s just the first half! I know I keep saying this, but seriously. Fall is my favorite.

(Like I said at the beginning, I’m linking up with Leigh Kramer for her What I’m Into series this month.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I’m Into (October 2014)

  1. Bethany says:

    I like this idea — seeing a kind of everyday glimpse of what’s shaping your tastes and interests.

  2. Victoria says:

    I’m here for the link up!

    Have you checked out Foyle’s War on Netflix? We really enjoy that show!

    And your fall list…I could go on and on about how much I love all of those things too! I finally found a beef stew recipe that is super easy and that everyone in my family loves. Yay!

  3. Juliet says:

    So much here to love. I’m also enjoying Gilmore Girls though it’s for the first time not a rerun! Anne of Green Gables and all the rest of the series are great favourites, maybe it’s time to revisit them!

Leave a Reply

