Home again, Home again.

I’m going to try and avoid cliches whilst updating you on our lovely weekend, but I can’t make any promises. Because the tricky thing about cliches is they are often true. Especially the ones about home, returning home, friends, and time.

IMG_6363

My dear husband and I returned to our beloved alma mater this weekend for our first Homecoming in 5 years. It was a perfect weekend full of friends, fall leaves, reliving memories, and delicious food. It was a bit odd to have worlds collide: we saw so many friends and a few professors from “back in our day,” all the while staying with my little younger brother in his apartment. This, of course, helped add to the nagging feeling we had that we were indeed a bit older than the last time we wander those hallowed sidewalks and hallways.

IMG_6343We got to see a good many of our friends from near and far. I was particularly excited to chat with a few of my favorite professors from college who were as thrilled to see me as I was to see them. Unsurprisingly, I often get twinges of insecurity in my relationships with people and assume that other people are not nearly as interested in me or our relationship as I am. It is always beautifully affirming when I reminded otherwise.

IMG_6338It was also fun to visit a few spots on campus that were special to my dear husband and I. The bench pictured above is where he proposed to me in May 2010. Have I told you that story? I think not. We had been dating for almost a year at that point and knew we wanted to get married. I was very clear with him: I wanted to wait until I graduated before being engaged. I think I just needed to have some clear boundaries on what I should be focusing on and I figured my homework would pale in comparison to the excitement of planning a wedding. So my dear husband listened and complied with my request: he proposed to me approximately 2 hours after I graduated. Which was technically following the rules… And made for an epically exciting night! (I feel like you guys deserve a throwback picture… Here ya go):

     Celebrating our engagement after a wonderfully exhausting day. We are, of course, at Waffle House with a few of my best friends from college. I think it was at least past midnight at this point...

Celebrating our engagement after a wonderfully exhausting day. We are, of course, at Waffle House with a few of my best friends from college. I think it was at least past midnight at this point…

But anyway, back to Homecoming. It was also perfect to be back on the campus that made me fall in love with fall. And re-fall in love with the mountains, Tennessee, and Appalachia.  The leaves were definitely beautiful and I traipsed around campus taking pictures and finding some of my new favorite leaves.

IMG_6351 IMG_6353  IMG_6357  IMG_6359

IMG_6349       IMG_6358

All in all, it was a delightful trip. It was good to visit our friends, my mountains, my brother and sister-in-law to be, our dear college campus. It was also a good reminder of how true cliches are: you can’t really go home again, the more things change, the more they stay the same, visiting your alma mater makes you feel old and nostalgic. I think both my dear husband and I are quite excited to be much closer to our dear friends and school. I’m sensing a yearly visit will be in order. Just to make sure that even though things change, our beloved place will still be full of truth, beauty, and goodness.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home again, Home again.

  1. Bethany says:

    I wish I could have been there!

  2. Philip says:

    Here Here! Awesome sentiments, which I’m inclined to agree with completely. 🙂 It was so good to see you guys!!!! (Beautiful pictures by the way!)

  3. lhathawayh says:

    This post really hit home with me. (Pun intended) i also appreciated this: “I often get twinges of insecurity in my relationships with people and assume that other people are not nearly as interested in me or our relationship as I am. It is always beautifully affirming when I reminded otherwise.” That rings true for me too.
    In summary, loved this post.

  4. Pingback: What I’m Into (October 2014) | stargirlwonders

Leave a Reply

