5 Things: Homecoming Edition

Yay Friday! This weekend, my dear husband and I are back at our college to celebrate Homecoming. I loved college and I love being able to go back to campus and the surrounding area to see our friends, see the fall leaves, and visit the piece of my soul nestled in my mountains. It also doesn’t hurt that some of my favorite restaurants and bookstores are near by… And that my brother and his fiance are there now. And that my sister-in-law, brother-in-law, nieces, and nephew will be there. Worlds will collide and it will be beautiful.

5 Things:

1) The word pomping. It is the technical term for the practice of putting tissue paper through chicken wire to create a parade float. I love that there is a word for this!

2) My little college town in the fall. This is where I first saw red leaves. Where I first saw the leaves change and fall. Where I first learned the difference in temperature between fall and winter, October and February. Where I officially decided fall is my favorite.

3) The song Rocky Top. I love that “all the folks on Rocky Top get their corn from a jar,” I love that UT sings it at their football games, and I love that in college I was adopted as an honorary Appalachian and can therefore proudly proclaim that Rocky Top will always be home sweet home to me.

4) The Homecoming Parade in our small college town is such a big deal that it goes by twice. And usually by the second time around, the crowd throws candy back because the parade people have run out…

5) Those fried potato ribbon things… Not really Homecoming relevant, but I just had one at the pumpkin patch last week, so we’ll go with it.

Tag, you’re it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5 Things: Homecoming Edition

  1. Pingback: What I’m Into (October 2014) | stargirlwonders

Leave a Reply

