Apple Making

After our visit to the apple orchard, the big question was: what are we going to do with all those apples? My big plan is to make a batch of apple butter in the crock pot, but that project was a little too involved for yesterday. Instead, I made smaller batches of apple chips and applesauce. Both worked really well and I will definitely be making some more soon!

First up: apple chips from this recipe.

IMG_6176 IMG_6177 IMG_6178 IMG_6179 IMG_6182 IMG_6184 IMG_6198 IMG_6200

It pretty much worked like the photos: I cored and sliced the apples really thinly. Then I sprinkled some cinnamon over them. I baked them for an hour, flipped them over, baked them for another hour, and then left them to cool completely in the oven. Delicious!

Then I made applesauce from this recipe:

IMG_6187 IMG_6188 IMG_6197 IMG_6195

This one is even more self-explanatory: I put three apples in the crock pot on low for 3-4 hours. Then I stirred it with a spoon and it turned into applesauce. Super easy!

I was pleasantly surprised: both recipes were really as easy as they claimed!

The rest of this weekend will be pretty crazy around here… I currently have 3 nieces watching Scooby-Doo while I type. We had a sleepover last night and will be hanging out for the rest of the day (it is their Fall Break). Then tomorrow my dear husband, his sister and brother-in-law, and I will all be heading to the nearest Ikea for some treasure hunting! There are also rumors about a pumpkin patch happening soon… It’s not technically my fall break, but it sure feels like it!

I hope you guys are finding ways to celebrate fall this lovely weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apple Making

  1. Pingback: What I’m Into (October 2014) | stargirlwonders

Leave a Reply

