New Fall Traditions: Apple Orchard

Seriously gorgeous fall day.

Seriously gorgeous fall day.

I love fall. It is by far my favorite season for the same reason it seems to be everyone else’s favorite season: scarves, sweaters, hot tea, apple cider, pretty leaves, cooler temperatures, knitted things, knitting things, couches with blankets and college football, baseball postseason, etc. I especially love fall because I now live in a world of seasons. Unlike the always sunny land in which I grew up, around here, leaves change, temperatures drop, and there is actually a discernible season known as fall.

The view of the orchard (which also had pumpkins, blueberries, peaches, and other vines we couldn't identify).

The view of the orchard (which also had pumpkins, blueberries, peaches, and other vines we couldn’t identify).

These days it seems like everyone loves pumpkins. I do love pumpkin bread, but other than that, I pick apple over pumpkin any fall day. Apple cider, apple butter, applesauce, apple cider donuts, apples and peanut butter… I love it all. So when we moved to our new rural Virginia home, I knew what new fall tradition I wanted to start: a trip to an apple orchard. My lovely sister-in-law and her family came with us. It was a perfect day and I came home with a bushel of apples to turn into some apple butter and possibly some apple chips.

IMG_6136

This is the perfect photo to encapsulate our day: apple cider donuts and a gorgeous view.

IMG_6140

More apple cider donut and an apple cider slushie. (So. good.)

IMG_6145

My dear husband and I.

IMG_6148

Apples! On a tree!

IMG_6149

Apple trees

IMG_6157

Picking the apple…

IMG_6158

…yay apples!

IMG_6170

We love apple orchards now!

  Fall is a good time in our little family: lots of traditions to look forward to and some new ones to be made. Here’s to sweaters, scarves, apple cider, and a whole lot of college football.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Fall Traditions: Apple Orchard

  1. Pingback: What I’m Into (October 2014) | stargirlwonders

Leave a Reply

