Guest Room “Quote Exhibit”

Have I told you about my favorite authors? Perhaps in passing, but I’m not sure I’ve discussed it in length. (Which is surprising since almost everything I discuss is lengthy…) One of my favorite authors in Roald Dahl. He wrote famous children’s books such as Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Matilda, The BFG, and many, many others. He also wrote delightfully creepy and macabre short stories for adults. I love his quirky, dark imagination, his twists and turns, and his particularly British way of seeing the world. One of the reasons he is my favorite author is because his books are some of the first I can remember reading. My mom had copies of Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator and  Danny and the Champion of the World from when she was little and I used to read those same copies when I was a kid. They are sitting on my bookshelf now and are some of my most prized books. (As evidenced by the fact that they made guest appearances in my senior pictures and my engagement pictures!)

In his last book, The Minpins, Roald Dahl wrote,
“Above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.”

I love this. It’s the tagline on my blog and it is now the featured quote in my guest room. I love it because I love the idea of having glittering eyes, of watching the world, of seeking secrets in unlikely places, of believing in magic and finding it. Because sometimes life is dull, ordinary, and repetitive. But if you watch, look, and believe in a little magic, it suddenly seems a whole lot more glorious.

I love this quote so much that I found a bunch of artists who also loved it and bought their prints. I then hung them up in my guest room. Wanna see?

This is my blank canvas. The wall above the guest room bed:

IMG_6112

Here are the prints I have:

https://www.etsy.com/listing/104461105/greeting-card-graduation-birthday?ref=favs_view_6

Greeting Card by Paper Taxi on Etsy

Letterpress Print by Miss Jackie Designs

Letterpress Print by Miss Jackie Designs on Etsy

Print by Kensie Katie on Etsy

Print by Kensie Katie on Etsy

Print by Paper Patch Prints on Etsy

Print by Paper Patch Prints on Etsy

Print by Consider the Lillies Co on Etsy

Print by Consider the Lillies Co on Etsy

Print by Little Seed Studio on Society6

Print by Little Seed Studio on Society6

Hand-lettered print by PepperOBrien on Etsy

Hand-lettered print by PepperOBrien on Etsy

Print by PopRocks Design on Etsy

Print by PopRocks Design on Etsy

IMG_6108

Print by Tricia O Design on Etsy

I bought frames from various craft stores and thrift stores, framed my prints, and arranged them on the bed to see how I liked them:

IMG_6113

I then promptly ignored what I had set out and randomly started hanging them. I came up with this:

IMG_6116

IMG_6118

So there you have it! My quote exhibit (thanks to my dear husband for the catchy name…). I still am not perfectly happy with the arrangement, but as my dear husband pointed out, it leaves room to grow. So if you’re looking for a gift to give your friendly blogger…

I hope your day is full of magic. And you should most definitely read a Roald Dahl book if you haven’t! I recommend Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator, the lesser-known sequel to Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. It’s one of my favorites!

[Fine print: I linked all the prints to their original artists and/or shops. Most of them are still available for purchase. The ones that are not I linked to their shop. Please let me know if any of the links aren’t working or if you have any questions!]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guest Room “Quote Exhibit”

  1. Bethany says:

    What a lovely idea! I hope one day I can make use of that guest room and dream myself to sleep beneath such wise words.

Leave a Reply

