Birthdays and Produce Bags

10563082_10152181228487007_1845173416165638278_n

This is my mom (and my dear husband) at Disneyland this summer. She was showing us how big It’s A Small World is in California. It’s not-so-secretly not her favorite ride…

Today is my mom’s birthday. Happy Birthday, Mom! It’s a pretty big, exciting birthday and I know she knows how to celebrate: with delicious food, some antique shopping, and hopefully achieving the Mom-trifecta (speaking to all 3 of her children in one day).

I know this is a bit unorthodox, but to celebrate my mom’s birthday, I’m going to show you what I made her for her birthday. The particularly unorthodox part is that she hasn’t even seen what I’m making her yet! She knows what it is because she requested these a few weeks ago, but I wanted to make her a few more before sending them.

So here they are:

IMG_6080

Ta-da! They are produce bags: ones you take to the grocery store and use instead of the plastic ones they have there. They are hippie-friendly and stuff. Washable too!

This is the second time in the last month or so that I sat down at my sewing machine, took some fabric, sewed for a bit, and created something. I am so excited that these turned out as well as they did. My plan is to make a few more for my mom that are a bit bigger and then maybe even make some for myself! It really is amazing what one can do when you learn to sew a square and turn it inside out…

I was particularly encouraged when I successfully wound a new bobbin, put said bobbin into the sewing machine, and then was able to fix my machine when the entire bobbin casing fell out in my hand! I did a little Google-ing, a little troubleshooting, a little muttering under my breath, and I finally figured it out. Success!

Here are a few pictures of the step-by-step process– which was basically sew a square, leave the top open, turn it inside out:
IMG_6063  IMG_6064

I have always been horribly bad at using scissors and cutting in a straight line... So I splurged on these tools to see if it would help. And it did!

I have always been horribly bad at using scissors and cutting in a straight line… So I splurged on these tools to see if it would help. And it did!

 IMG_6067   IMG_6069

IMG_6071

I have some handmade produce bags at home and I looked at them to see how they were made. They used a stitch like this so I played around with my machine to see if I could find this fancy stitch. I’m not entirely sure of the actual purpose, but it seemed sturdy and cool looking so I went with it.

IMG_6073

I used some cotton yarn I had in my stash for the drawstring. It was surprisingly easy to make the drawstring part!

IMG_6074

IMG_6076

In-side out…

IMG_6077

IMG_6078

…right-side in! (Or however you say that).

IMG_6079

Contrasting thread color for a bit of fun.

And voila! Produce bags!

And voila! Produce bags!

I love when my mom asks me to make things like this. One year I made her some cloth napkins and since then, she has been converted to using those instead of paper napkins. It is always nice to make someone something when you know they will use it. And when you know it will help them reduce, reuse, and recycle!

So there you go, Mom. They will be on their way to you soonish. Happy Birthday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthdays and Produce Bags

  1. Pingback: What I’m Into (October 2014) | stargirlwonders

Leave a Reply

