Trumpeter of Krakow

I know we’ve talked about this, but I love children’s literature. I believe in children’s literature. I am super passionate about children’s literature.

However. Children’s literature in the 1920s was an odd place to be. It had animals and lots of diversity– sort of– and strange story lines and curious illustrations. The plots are definitely different from what I’m used to.

IMG_1316

Fun fact: this is my copy of Trumpeter and I got it from my high school librarian. I love Perma-Bound books! (Thanks, Auntie June!)

The Trumpeter of Krakow won the Newbery Medal in 1929. Eric P. Kelly wrote it after he traveled to Poland and became enamored with its culture and history. It tells the story of the Charnetksi family and the Great Tarnov Crystal. As strange as it was, I did really enjoy the medieval setting and all the alchemy, science, and religion that Kelly wove through the book. The Middle Ages were a crazy fun time for science and religion, to be sure.

IMG_1315

The other thing about this book I liked was the way the main character Joseph has to use music to alert his friends to danger. I won’t give it all away, I’ll just show you this part from the book:

IMG_1260

As with many of the other books I’ve read so far, this one had illustrations at the beginning of every chapter:

IMG_1314

Next up on my list is Hitty, Her First Hundred Years. I think Hitty is a doll? And she belongs to a family for 100 years? I’m not sure. All I know is I am now in the 1930s! Mid-century books are in sight: the light at the end of the tunnel. I’ve read 8 Newbery winners and there are 92 total. So I only have 84 left!

Now I just have to find a copy of Hitty

This entry was posted in Newbery Award, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

