Book #2: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

This book is one I had seen out and about multiple times, but had never gotten a chance to read it. Then I saw we had it in the bookstore where I work and realized with my discount I could own it for less than $10. (Side note: it is really dangerous for me to work in retail. I’m not even all that school spirited, but suddenly I must own every university t-shirt we sell…)

Ransom Riggs is good friends and former college roommates with one of my favorite authors (John Green) and I knew his first novel came highly recommended. It tells the story of Jacob’s grandfather and the stories he told Jacob. Jacob goes through phases of belief and unbelief at the fantastical tales his grandfather tells of a home for strange children on an island in Wales. I won’t spoil any more of the story than that: you’ll have to read it to find out more!

One of the coolest things about this novel is its incorporation of old manipulated photographs. Ransom Riggs based his characters off old photographs depicting peculiar children or scenes. A girl holding a ball of fire, a girl levitating, an invisible boy, a bird in a cage: all of these photographs become important characters or moments in the story. The combination of pictures and story-telling make for a curious story that is definitely different than most other YA fiction these days. The sequel is coming out in January and I’m excited to see where this journey is going!

Speaking of ongoing journeys, my September fall goals are moving right along. I have three more books to tell you about (that I may or may not have read yet…or even decided what they will be…), two more recipes (one of which may have made an appearance in Monday’s 5 Things…), all 3 movies to talk about (sheesh… that one was harder than I thought!), and one more project (Christmas presents?). That should be quite enough to keep us going through the rest of the fall. I may even share some other thoughts with you guys– everything from leaving our home of 3 years to what my Myers-Briggs type is. We’ll just have to see how it goes.

5 3 books, 4 2 recipes, 3 movies, 2 1 projects, 1 adventure.

This entry was posted in September Goals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

