Recipe #2: Tomato, Herb, and Goat Cheese Frittata

I have a secret to tell you: I’m an incredibly picky eater. Some people who know me quite well may have just laughed out loud at this “secret,” but I figured at least some of you don’t know that yet. I have the palate of a four-year-old and it can be a problem. The nice thing about getting older, however, is that I have learned to work around my fickle taste buds. I rarely throw fits at the dinner table anymore (although one piece of asparagus too many and I can’t make any promises…), I don’t declare things yucky, and I save making faces for when I am absolutely sure no one is looking.

This picky palate has been complicated a bit by the fact that my dear husband and I are accidental vegetarians. For ethical reasons, we only eat meat that we know where it comes from. For example, we have a lovely farmer’s market here in Waco and we have a particular farmer/vendor that we like to buy our meat from. He has very reasonable prices, all things considered: ground beef is $6 a pound and I can usually get a whole chicken for $12-$16. Suffice to say our budget does not really allow for meat 5 times a week. So we’ve learned to be vegetarians at home and throw all our rules out the window any time we eat out. Hence the “accidental” vegetarians.

With this in mind, I’m sure you can see how recipe hunting would be difficult for me. I try to find recipes without meat, without too many vegetables (especially the green ones… yuck), and without too many ingredients which would cause it to be too expensive. We eat a lot of pasta, rice, beans, and dairy in our house. You’d never know my dear husband was lactose intolerant by the amount of cheese in the refrigerator… But I’ve learned that putting cheese on a dish makes a world of difference for me. So when I find a recipe that works, I get very excited. But more often than not, I find a recipe that might work and it gets lost in the back-log of recipes that is my Pinterest and Evernote. Especially when added to all of this complicated food rules is the amount of time we have to cook on any given evening. As students with jobs that often don’t fall into the 9-5 hours, we don’t usually have a lot of time to spend in the kitchen. When I find a recipe that is delicious, quick, cheap, and easy, we eat it once a week for six months. (Remind me to tell you about Thai Peanut Noodles sometime…)

Now that you have a better understanding of food in our kitchen, let me introduce you to my new favorite dish: Frittata. Honestly, I’ve only ever had this one frittata, but I’m excited to discover more. This one almost follows all of our rules (goat cheese can be a bit more expensive than I like, but we make it work), is quick and easy to make, and is delicious. To be honest, we’ve probably had our last frittata of this kind for the season: tomatoes are on their way out. But potatoes are about to become a starring ingredient in the house, as is bacon, and I have hope for some sort of egg, bacon, and potato dish.

So without further ado, the Tomato, Herb, and Goat Cheese Frittata.

IMG_5276

This recipe also gets bonus points for being made in a cast iron skillet. My dear husband is the caretaker of our cast iron skillet that we bought at one of my favorite stores here in our college town. It was like 12 dollars from this store – an antique store/magical place—and I can only imagine the stories it would tell if it could talk.

IMG_5278

I’d also like to mention how well this particular dish photographs… So it definitely gets points there!

IMG_5279

There you have it: Recipe #2. I highly recommend it: quick, easy, and delicious. I apologize for telling you about this in September as tomatoes go out of season, but maybe now you ‘ll have something to look forward to for next summer.

5 (now 4) books, 4 (now 2) recipes, 3 movies, 2 projects, 1 (finished) adventure.

This entry was posted in September Goals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

