Recipe #1: Enchiladas

So we’re 18 days into September and I haven’t gotten around to my projects yet… I did have a few posts last week, but those were spontaneous, not part of the plan. I’ve usually not spontaneous at all, but after composing a blog post in my head in the span of a 12 minute walk, I figured it must be something important to me and that I should write it.

Anyway, here’s recipe number one: enchiladas. I used the enchilada recipe in Shauna Niequist’s book Bread and Wine. (Spoiler alert: expect a blog post on that very book soon and very soon…) This book is fabulous and I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone. But that’s another blog post for another time.

We had these enchiladas one night when we experimented with a “dinner party” for the first time. We’ve had many, many people over for many, many meals, but this one was a touch different. We invited two of our favorite couples who we suspected would bond over a common love of board games. Happily, we ate enchiladas, chatted, and played a few board games. It was quite lovely and I’d love to do it again.

But anyway: back to the enchiladas.

This is what they looked like when they were finished:
IMG_5380

They were the perfect combination of delicious, filling, and simple to make. They also passed my test of not too many ingredients. Suffice to say we will make this again. Bread and Wine also provides this recipe as a good one to make for new moms, grieving families, or in any other “bring food as a ministry” opportunities. I certainly agree.

Here’s what we did:

First, I put the fancy table cloth on the table and made sure my new art print was hung up. (Life is too short to save the fancy tablecloth for actual fancy occasions...)

First, I put the fancy table cloth on the table and made sure my new art print was hung up. (Life is too short to save the fancy tablecloth for actual fancy occasions…)

Then we made some enchilada sauce (using only 3 ingredients).

Then we made some enchilada sauce (using only 3 ingredients).

Here are the things we used to build the enchiladas: sauce, chicken, and cheese. Tortillas too, but they weren't on the counter at this point...

Here are the things we used to build the enchiladas: sauce, chicken, and cheese. Tortillas too, but they weren’t on the counter at this point…

Here's what my counter looks like during any given dinner making experience...

Here’s what my counter looks like during any given dinner making experience…

The first layer of sauce, chicken, and cheese in place, awaiting the tortilla layer.

The first layer of sauce, chicken, and cheese in place, awaiting the tortilla layer.

Getting the tortillas in place was quite the process: a quick dip in bubbling broth and then into the pan.

Getting the tortillas in place was quite the process: a quick dip in bubbling broth and then into the pan.

And then we popped it in the oven and it baked. Then we ate it and it was delicious!
It was more of a layered, lasagna-esq enchiladas as opposed to a rolled up sort of enchilada. I am excited to try more recipes from this book and to continue working on my September goals.

5 books, 4 recipes (now 3), 3 movies, 2 projects, 1 adventure.

This entry was posted in September Goals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recipe #1: Enchiladas

  1. lhathawayh says:

    It is such a great book! I can’t wait to make those enchiladas! I’ve heard great things about them. Let us know if you try any other recipes in there. (oh, and have a great day!)

  2. Those are on my list too. I have read the book and now I am reading her first book, Cold Tangerines, which I would also highly recommend. So needless to say I am looking forward to your blog post about her book.

  3. Pingback: Book #1: Bread and Wine | stargirlwonders

  4. Pingback: Holy Hiatus, Batman! | stargirlwonders

Leave a Reply

