Pockets of Time

One of the many, many things graduate school taught me about myself is I am really bad with working in little pockets of time. You know the ones: it’s 9am and I have to leave for work at 10am. Your choices are a) finish cleaning the kitchen, b) get a snippet of homework done, or c) sit on your computer for an hour, all the while convincing yourself that an hour is not nearly enough time to get anything done.
I picked option c. Every time.

This problem persists past my exit from graduate school. At my new book store job, my schedule is roughly 9-5, 5 days a week. Most mornings I’m up at 7:30 and I’m out the door at 8:40. I then get home around 5:20 and we have dinner. Then I collapse on the couch and watch some sort of screen until I go to bed. It’s pathetic: I am terrible about using what little pockets of time I am afforded.

I’m trying to get better. As I type this, I’m sitting in the children’s section of our college library with my dear husband: I plan to carry an armload of books home with me. We drive about 1.5 hours to and from church twice a week and I almost always get a row or two of crochet finished in that time. But the siren song of the computer screen and the television screen are often too strong to resist.

While I am working on getting better, here are a few things I have managed to document in my pockets of time over the last few weeks:

My first week of work was also my longest week of work. Sometimes heating up the noodles is just too much to ask...

My first week of work was also my longest week of work. Sometimes heating up the noodles is just too much to ask…

I've been keeping up with my Disney list. The Golden Age is truly lovely.

I’ve been keeping up with my Disney list. The Golden Age is truly lovely.

New lunch contraptions! Chips and salsa in a mason jar.

New lunch contraptions! Chips and salsa in a mason jar.

July birthdays around here meant new board games. We've managed to teach a few people our new favorite: 7 Wonders.

July birthdays around here meant new board games. We’ve managed to teach a few people our new favorite: 7 Wonders.

More blanket progress.

More blanket progress.

My new favorite yarn: recycled wool in a lovely green.

My new favorite yarn: recycled wool in a lovely green.

Look what they sell at my bookstore!

Look what they sell at my bookstore!

His and hers coffee break on a Sunday afternoon. (Mugs and saucers by Fiesta, coffee and service by my dear husband).

His and hers coffee break on a Sunday afternoon. (Mugs and saucers by Fiesta, coffee and service by my dear husband).

Packages with this sticker are always welcome!

Packages with this sticker are always welcome!

My new necklace! Rocky Top is my adopted home.

My new necklace! Rocky Top is my adopted home.

More blanket progress: see the green stripe? Right now I'm working on maroon, pale grey, and more maroon.

More blanket progress: see the green stripe? Right now I’m working on maroon, pale grey, and more maroon.

My favorite seasonal Starbucks option: Salted Caramel Mocha.

My favorite seasonal Starbucks option: Salted Caramel Mocha.

So you see, I’m getting better. Now I just need to learn to use these pockets of time for more reading, creating, cooking, and, of course, blogging.

(My lovely Tennessee necklaces is from my dear friend Megan and her New Eve Jewelry shop. She makes fabulous things: you should check her shop out!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

