Graduation

As I mentioned yesterday, I don’t have a first day of school this year. In fact, for the first time in almost 20 years, I am not starting school in August. I did take a year off in between undergrad and graduate school (kind of accidentally…), but even then I planned to be in school the next August. This time around I honestly don’t know if I will ever be a student again. Which is sort of a funny feeling, because for quite some time I found a lot of my worth and identity in my school work.

Graduate school taught me a lot. Frankly, it taught me more about myself, my faith, my life, my personality, and my relationships with others than it did about History. It was a very complicated two years, but I wouldn’t change it for anything. I was also very blessed to really enjoy my professors, my campus, my environment, and especially my cohort. There were seven of us who spent the last two years together, navigating graduate school and figuring life out. I could not have asked for better companions for the past two years.

It all officially ended for us about 10 days ago at the August Commencement ceremony.

That moment when you finally find your family in a ginormous crowd.

That moment when you finally find your family in a ginormous crowd.

Walking across the stage after my names (all four!) were called.

Walking across the stage after my names (all four!) were called.

We have never managed to graduate at the same time...

We have never managed to graduate at the same time…

When you get your Master's, you get a fancy hood!

When you get your Master’s, you get a fancy hood!

And wings! Which, in case anyone was wondering, are the perfect size for holding a phone...

And wings! Which, in case anyone was wondering, are the perfect size for holding a phone…

Speaking of cohorts, here they are! These are the lovely ladies of the History program.

Speaking of cohorts, here they are! These are the lovely ladies of the History program.

Here we all are! (Minus one, plus a dear husband and a PhD student).

Here we all are! (Minus one, plus a dear husband and a PhD student).

My parents, my dear husband, and I.

My parents, my dear husband, and I.

One of my dear graduate school friends and I in our fancy new graduation dresses!

One of my dear graduate school friends and I in our fancy new graduation dresses!

All in all it was a lovely day: bittersweet, filled with friends, family, and good food, just as graduations should be.

DSC_0079

As for what comes next, that will most certainly be a whole other post for another day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Graduation

  1. Mary the Glampirate says:

    Congratulations!!! And oh my goodness, I adore your graduation dress! So pretty, and such a lovely color.

Leave a Reply

