Thrift Store Finds

Unsurprisingly, I’m sure, thrift stores are some of my favorite places to have adventures. Here in our college town, there are two thrift stores that I try to frequent once or twice a month. I realize that most serious thrifters frequent their favorite stores more often, but between my limited budget, small space, and very patient but not quite saintly dear husband, twice a month is quite enough. For my birthday celebrations, we got to visit my two favorites thrift stores and came away with a few treasures:

The glass jars we found.

The glass jars we found.

This one was my dear husband's favorite: it has a fun shape and fruit on it.

This one was my dear husband’s favorite: it has a fun shape and fruit on it.

I come by my love of thrifting quite honestly: my parents and grandparents love to go antiquing and are always on the hunt for some elusive treasure or another. Recently, my parents have started selling some of their treasures and have really enjoyed having a booth in an antique mall. So while I’m out and about, I always keep an eye out for things they would like. I found this for my mom:

IMG_5271

It’s a film projector.

We think it uses film strips, but isn't for moving pictures.

We think it uses film strips, but isn’t for moving pictures.

We plugged it in and it still works!

We plugged it in and it still works!

We also bought something else for my mom. Remember how I mentioned we were a Disney family? My mom has a bit of a collection from her favorite Disney/Pixar film:

I believe he held sno-cones at some point...

I believe he held sno-cones at some point…

Do you know what film it is from?

Just looking at these pictures makes me want to go out treasure hunting again… I just know there are treasures out there that would fit perfectly in our home!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

