Progress

One of the reasons I wanted to start this blog now is because of all the fun projects I’m working on this summer/fall. The ones I introduced you to last week: Newbery Award Winners and Disney movies especially. The problem is, now that I’ve introduced you to these fun projects and shown you what I’ve done so far, I haven’t made any more progress so far. At all. I’m still waiting for my next Disney movie to come in (my aunt Kim is sending me the VHS copies we used to watch as kids… So fun!) and Smoky the Cowhorse and I are still journeying through the America West. I did get another 100 pages or so read, which was a huge accomplishment, and I think I’ve also been able to figure out some positive things to say about that book when I’m finished!

I do have one other project I haven’t introduced you to yet: my blanket. As will become quickly apparent, I fell in love with fiber arts about two years ago and I haven’t looked back. At this point, I knit and crochet. I know cognitively how to sew, but my sewing machine and I still need to spend some quality time together before I will claim any ability in that arena. For my birthday, I received some Etsy money (thanks, Aunt Kathy!) and I bought myself an embroidery sampler to practice and learn embroidery on. Don’t worry: I’ll show it to you as soon as it arrives on my door step!

One of the reasons I love knitting and crocheting so much is their portability. I take my projects with me pretty much everywhere we go: in the car, to church, to dinner with friends, to any social event… In fact, it has gotten to the point where if I don’t have my projects with me, my friends will ask why. I enjoy having something to do with my hands that I can also remain fully involved in the conversation as well. When I was a child and a teenager, I carried books everywhere I went. As an introvert, it was a coping mechanism to have a book to ward off any potential social interactions with people I didn’t know. In contrast, knitting or crocheting often invites people to ask questions and gives us something to talk about.

The project I am working on now is actually for me. I don’t knit for myself very often: there are too many other fun projects to make for other people! But I have always wanted to make myself a blanket and as a reward for surviving and finishing graduate school, I decided to crochet myself a blanket. After scouring many patterns of brightly colored stripes, ripples, chevrons, granny squares, and many other options, I settle on a ripple-esq pattern with muted bright colors. It makes sense, I promise. The pattern is from a book (The Gentle Art of Knitting by Jane Brocket, a book which I highly recommend) and it is called the Art Deco Crochet Blanket. It is a great combination of colors and stripes without being too much. This was important for my house because my dear husband loves muted earth tones and I love all bright colors. In order to compromise, I found something with muted bright colors.

I’ve made it through the first 10-12 rows and am now eagerly and impatiently waiting on a shipment of yarn to come in before I can continue. I’ll show you the few photos I have of my progress.

About half of the yarn I will use for the blanket.

About half of the yarn I will use for the blanket.

The first few rows: before color is introduced.

The first few rows: before color is introduced.

Orange is the first color!

Orange is the first color!

This is about where I am now color-wise, but there are 5 rows of yellow.

This is about where I am now color-wise, but there are 5 rows of yellow.

I am now eagerly awaiting the rest of the yarn so I can add my coral stripe (which comes after a grey stripe) and then I will have all but one color of yarn. Hopefully I can finish this blanket by mid-fall so I will have time to work on Christmas presents. But we’ll see how that goes.

I will certainly keep you updated on my progress. You can also follow me on Instagram (I’m a bit obsessed. It’s a problem…) at stargirlwonders. That’s where I post lots of pictures of food, knitting projects, and more food. Just to prepare you.

Are you working on any long term projects?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Progress

  1. Pingback: Books to Read, Lists to Finish. | stargirlwonders

Leave a Reply

