The Power of Children’s Literature

I believe strongly in the power of children’s literature. In that moment you read a character’s thoughts and think to yourself, “Oh, I’m not the only one!” In reading something at a young age that is moves you for the first time and you can’t explain why. In learning so much about the world, from vocabulary words to other viewpoints to random bits of trivia. Even at my ripe old age of 25, I find myself reciting facts and saying, “I don’t know how I know that… I must have read it somewhere.”

As a child, I was a voracious reader. I spent much time in the company of Meg Murray, Stargirl, Cassandra Mortmain, and any historical figure featured in the many, many historical fiction novels I found in the library. Libraries were my safe haven and my happy place, as was a big comfy chair and a long afternoon with a stack of books. I read and learned and fell in love with literature.

I believe so much in the power of children’s literature that I want to be a children’s librarian. I want to help kids find books that make them feel at home and to help them realize they are not alone. I want to show them that one book that will make them realize maybe reading is not so boring after all. I want to teach a generation of children the power of words, stories, images, books. I want them to believe in the power of children’s literature too.

My other summer project that will quickly turn into a fall and winter project has been to read all of the Newbery Award Winners. I’ve read quite a few of them, but there are quite a few of them I haven’t read. I’m a sucker for a good list that I can cross things off and feel accomplished. I’m also, as previously stated, a firm believer in children’s literature. So why not read what is considered some of the best children’s literature?

Let’s just say so far it has been a journey. Such an epic journey, in fact, that I will tell you all about it tomorrow. Until then, what books do you remember reading as a child? What was the first book that moved you? The first character that you felt a kinship with? I’ll answer those questions tomorrow too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Power of Children’s Literature

  1. Christi says:

    I remember adoring A Wrinkle in Time and totally connecting with Meg Murray. It was like books gave you a whole new set of friends as a kid. 🙂

Leave a Reply

